Marmite Cheese Pasta

Now this recipe is not for everyone, but it’s my most favourite, my marmite cheese pasta. It’s so comforting and quick to make, so if you’re feeling tired, and just want a bowlful of cheesy, marmitey goodness, I always find that this is perfect. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Serves 1 or 2

Ingredients

15g unsalted butter

15g plain flour

300ml milk

50g cheese

1 tsp marmite

1 tsp mustard powder/ mustard (optional)

a pinch of nutmeg (optional)

salt and pepper

Recipe

1. Bring some water to the boil and begin to cook your pasta. If you start cooking your pasta just before starting the sauce, they should be ready around the same time.

2. Melt the butter in a saucepan over a medium heat.

3. Whisk in the flour and turn the heat down.

4. Gradually whisk in the milk, a little at a time, stirring constantly. As you add the milk the mixture will transform from a paste to a thin sauce which will thicken up as it cooks. You may need slightly more or less of the milk depending on how thick you like your sauce.P1020781

5. I like to add some mustard powder and nutmeg, which I love, but aren’t necessary if you don’t fancy them.

6. Raise to a medium heat and add the cheese in chunks (or grated if you feel like washing up the cheese grater), stirring it in until it melts into the sauce. Again you can add more or less depending on the extent of your love for cheese.

P1020786

7. Taste for marmite is a very personal thing and I think that I’ve made this sauce so many times that my taste buds have adapted, so I would therefore suggest adding a little at a time and tasting it as you go.

P1020791

8. Season with salt and pepper.

9. Drain the pasta and stir it into the pan with the sauce.

10. I often also add any vegetables that need using up, such as mushrooms which I cook for a few minutes in the sauce before adding the pasta, or spinach or sweet corn, which I would add at the last minute.

P1020801

11. For extra cheesiness serve with more cheese on top.

P1020814

This entry was written by rosannabanana and published on 6 November, 2013 at 9:28 pm. It’s filed under Pasta, Savoury Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

